Facebook's tool to mass-delete embarrassing posts buried in your timeline


On Tuesday (June 2), Facebook introduced a new tool that many users feel is long overdue. The privacy tool is called 'Manage Activity' and will allow Facebook users to delete old posts en masse for the first time ever. In a statement Facebook explained the tool was designed to help users "more accurately reflect who [they] are today."

To use the new tool, Facebook users will have to log into their accounts and click on Settings. Once their in Settings, they must click on Privacy. The next step is tapping into the Activity Log. Once inside the Activity Log, users will see an expanded version of the 'Manage Activity' function, which includes being able to search their old posts and activity by year.

The new tool will also include a "trash bin." Once you've deleted old posts, they won't vanish from Facebook right away. Instead, they will be placed in the trash bin for 30 days. During that time period, you can change your mind about deleting those posts before they vanish for good.

"Whether you're entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook," the company said of the tool in a blog post.

Right now, the tool is only available on Facebook's mobile app and Facebook lite, however, the tool will be available on desktop sometime in the future.

via wired.com Facebook's New Privacy Controls Are Long Overdue

via dailymail.com Facebook introduces tool that makes it easier to find and mass-delete embarrassing or undesirable posts buried in your timeline

photo credit: Getty